On July 29, 2015 Microsoft released Windows 10 for PC’s with Windows 10 for Mobile and Windows 10 for XBOX One coming soon.

For regular users of Windows that suffered through the mobile focused Windows 8.x wave, Windows 10 is a substantial improvement on the desktop focused Windows 7 and the mobile focused Windows 8.X.

Windows 10 logo small

I have been in the self-inflicted world of hurt, that was the Windows 10 Technical Preview that started less than promising, but quickly improved to a solid and productive experience.

I’m not going to go through the many exiting features that are in Windows 10, but I’d like to mention one: Continuum!

My PC is my Tablet and my Tablet is my PC

I’m writing this blog on my Lenovo Thinkpad Yoga 12, that transforms into a tablet. Windows 8, the transfomation was a bit forced and less than elegant. Windows the latest iteration of the Technical Preview, My Lenovo automatically detected that I swiwled the keyboard and the Start Menu became the Start Screen. On my Surface 3, the reverse happens when I attach the keyboard. Perfect!

I am so looking forward to seeing Continuum on the next generation of Windows Phones due this fall.

Apps for Xbox, Phone, Tablet and PC

Over the last couple of weeks, I’ve spent some quality time with Visual Studio 2015 to determine what the developer experience will be. And I have to say I’m impressed.

For quite some time, we seen how the “responsive” web site have become the norm and Microsoft has introduced similar features for “real” developers. Instead of the multi-project development methodology of Windows 8.x, you have a very simple (at least at face value) og developing one app for a broad range of devices and still be able to use device specific features in your app, if they are available.

Now, I’m off to to spend some more time with the release version of the developer tools and Windows 10.